Dictionary of Welsh Biography

A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z

EINION WAN ( fl. 1230-1245 ), poet .

Six sequences of his englynion are extant, two of which are to Madog ap Gruffydd Maelor of Powys Fadog , two to Llywelyn ap Iorwerth (d. 1240 ) , and one sequence each to Dafydd (d. 1246 ) and Gruffydd , the sons of Llywelyn . One of the sequences to Madog and one of those to Llywelyn are elegiac, and in each case the other sequence was addressed to the respective princes during their lifetime. The verses to Dafydd are intercessionary, and were therefore composed while he was alive, and those addressed to Gruffydd were obviously composed before his final imprisonment, and therefore before 1241 .


  • Llawysgrif Hendregadredd (N.L.W. MS. 6680) 75a-77a;
  • The Myvyrian Archaiology of Wales , 232-5;
  • The Poetry in the Red Book of Hergest (1911) , 1405-6 .


David Myrddin Lloyd, M.A., (1909-81), Aberystwyth / Scotland

Published date: 1959